Laura McVeigh is Director of PEN International, the worldwide writers’ association which promotes literature and defends freedom of expression.

PEN International represents 144 Centres around the world in 102 countries.

Founded in 1921 membership has included many well-known writers such as Arthur Miller, H.G. Wells, Joseph Conrad, George Bernard Shaw, Paul Valery, Thomas Mann, Alberto Moravia, Heinrich Boll, Kenzaburo Oe, Orhan Pamuk, Mario Vargas Llosa, Wole Soyinka, Liu Xiaobo, Nadine Gordimer, Toni Morrison, Carol Ann Duffy OBE, Sir David Hare and Sir Tom Stoppard OM, OBE among many others.

PEN promotes literature and defends freedom of expression through international programmes, regional networks, literary events, publications and festivals and by campaigning on behalf of writers.

You can follow PEN International at or on Twitter  @pen_int

You can follow Laura McVeigh @lcmcveigh

Blogging and tweeting in a personal capacity.  Writing about writing, freedom of expression and PEN International.